

Council Year 2011/2012

Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader

Notes: (1) Where the number of members of a body is variable, the optional additional member number is bracketed - please see the accompanying paper on the application of the political balance rules where the different options are considered.

(2) Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group unless stated otherwise.

CABINET (Leader of the Council plus 5 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the 5 members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be between 4 and 6 in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

1	Leader of the Council: Tutt
2	Deputy Leader: Mattock
3	Bannister
4	Stanley
5	Tester
6	Wallis

OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET" (Notification for information)

1	Opposition Leader: Elkin
2	Deputy Leader: Howlett
3	Belsey
4	Goodall
5	Goodyear
6	Marsden

COMMITTEES

Scrutiny Committee (7 (or 8) members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Szanto	6	Ch: Marsden
2	Pooley	7	Belsey
3	Purchese	Sub	stitutes:
4	Thompson	1	Elkin
5	Woodall	2	Goodyear
(8)	-		
Subs	titutes:		
1	Harris		
2	Hough		
3	Woodall		

<u>Planning Committee</u> (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Madell	7	Goodall
2	D/Ch: Salsbury	8	Taylor
3	Bloom	Sub	stitutes:
4	Harris	1	Besley
5	Miah	2	Howlett
6	Szanto		
Sub	stitutes:		
1	Goodwin		
2	Pooley		

<u>Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees</u> (Between 10 and 15 trained Members (currently 15) – not Cabinet members).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Purchese	12	Belsey
2	D/Ch: Szanto	13	Goodall
3	Bloom	14	Goodyear
4	Goodwin	15	Taylor
5	Hough		
6	Madell		
7	Morris		
8	Pooley		
9	Salsbury		
10	Thompson		
11	Woodall		

(No substitution allowed)

<u>Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen:</u> (Between 3 and 5 members drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committees – currently 5)

1	Goodwin	
2	Morris	
3	Purchese	
4	Szanto	
5	Thompson	

Standards Committee (6 councillors and 3 independent members and to be chaired by one of the independent members.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Goodwin	4	Goodall
2	Tester	5	Howlett
3	Woodall	6	Taylor
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Harris	1	Elkin
2	Mattock	2	Goodyear

<u>Audit Committee</u> (5 councillors, not members of the Cabinet. Note, the Cabinet lead member for finance (or nominated substitute) attends in nonvoting capacity). <u>In addition, it is recommended that so far as possible there is no overlap in membership between the Audit Committee and Scrutiny Committee.</u>

Controlling Group			Opposition	
1	Ch: Morris	5	Elkin	
2	D/Ch: Purchese	Su	bstitutes:	
3	Pooley	1	Goodyear	
4	Woodall	2	Marsden	
n/v	Mattock (lead Cabinet member for finance)			
Sub	stitutes:			
1	Goodwin			
2	Miah			

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group 4 (or 3) members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Morris	3	Goodyear
2	D/Ch:Woodall		
(4)	Hough		

Joint Staff Consultative Committee (3 members, 2 from the controlling group and 1 from the largest opposition group, plus Staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include at least 1 Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Tester	1	Goodall
2	Bannister		
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Miah	1	Elkin
2	Tutt	2	Howlett

TASK GROUPS AND OTHER BODIES:

Grants Task Group (3 members)

	Controlling Group		Opposition
1	Ch:Pooley	3	Goodall
2	Mattock		

Downland Forum (3 or 4 members)

	Controlling Group		Opposition
1	Hough	3	Belsey
2	Woodall		
(4)			

Cleansing and Highways Forum (2 members)

Controlling Group	Opposition
Wallis	Taylor

Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors (4 councillors)

Controlling Group			Opposition		
1	Hough		4	Marsden	
2	Tutt		5	Mrs Murray	
3	Name to be advised				

Wealden and Eastbourne Lifeline Board - Non Executive Directors

(2 councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition				
1	Woodall		2	Howlett		

PROJECT BOARDS AND OTHER

Members' IT/T-Government Board: Goodwin and Goodyear.

Town Centre Development: Elkin and Tutt.

Cleansing Contracts/Garden Waste: Taylor and Wallis.

Civil Parking (joint with East Sussex County Council): Elkin and Madell.

Cultural Centre: Howlett and Thompson.

Local Development Framework Steering Group: Madell, Taylor and

Wallis.

Agile Working Strategic Board: Howlett, Mattock and Tester.

Airbourne Strategic Board: Howlett, Stanley and Tutt.

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief: Goodwin, Goodyear,

Heaps and Purchese.

Disability Champion: Goodwin.

Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Champion: Miah.

Heritage Champion: Morris.

(der\P:leaders mtg\2010\schedule of group noms)